trainee testimonials

send us yours!

Rex A. – USA
Go Overseas
September 27, 2017

I researched TEFL courses from various parts of the world and finally decided on TEFL Plus. It was a good decision. Li Sasaki was helpful and supportive by answering my many questions before the decision was made. After the course began Li was also available to students pretty much 24/7 when questions needed answering. […] During the last week of the course I sent out several resumes to local schools in the Phuket area. I received an immediate response from one school, interviewed two days later, and on the last day of class accepted their job offer. So my TEFL journey continues on! The TEFL Plus Course is certainly not easy. But I highly recommend this course for those seeking to teach English in an international setting!

Nicklas B. – Sweden
TEFL Course Review
September 27, 2017

I would recommend the TEFL-plus training at Patong Language School, Phuket. A very organized and structured course with a great instructor and helpful staff. Patong Language School is a serious but fun place to learn. The course gives great insight into teaching English in a structured and planned manner binding together theoretical knowledge with practical experience teaching real students. The course is intensive as a lot of knowledge and practice needs to be processed in a relatively short time. I would recommend the course for everyone who wants to be an English teacher in Thailand (or elsewhere) and like me need some structure and confidence to run a classroom. Challenging and very enjoyable!

Terry S. – UK
TEFL Course Review
July 4, 2017

The quality of instruction is excellent and I learned a tremendous amount, not only about teaching English as a 2nd language, but also about the English language itself. The instruction was well-paced and delivered with great humour. The staff at Patong Language School are very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and feel fully-prepared for teaching English.

Allison R. – USA
TEFL Course Review
June 9, 2017

Li was an absolutely amazing instructor. He made everything in the class clear and easy to understand. We did a lot of practice teaching so by the end I felt completely confident in teaching the students on my own. Li always emailed me back right away. I was actually planning on taking the course a few years back but wasn’t able to. The only reason I came back to Phuket for the class was because of Li. He stayed in contact and assisted me with every question I had (which was a lot). I would recommend this course to everyone especially with Li as your instructor.

Jennifer V. – USA
TEFL Course Review
February 16, 2017

After careful research and consideration of many certification courses, I decided on Patong Language School for its credibility, location, and overall value. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and I had direct communication with my instructor throughout the entire process. When inquiring about visa situations, accommodations, course requirements, and financial inquiries to the months leading up to my departure for Phuket, Li Sasaki was readily available with a timely and helpful response. This did not change throughout the entire four week course. I had the opportunity to study with other travelers from all over the world, and the locals are some of the friendliest people I have ever had the absolute pleasure to become acquainted with. The food, beach time, and FUN, were all just icing on the cake. I would highly recommend this program to anyone!!

Paul P. – Canada
Go Overseas
October 3, 2016

I would absolutely recommend TEFLPlus for TEFL training if you are interested in teaching English in Thailand. The course is extremely well planned out and provides you with all of the essential skills needed to become an English teacher. The staff are very knowledgeable and professional and the practice component of the course gives you the experience needed to be comfortable in any teaching environment. [...] Located in Patong, you can relax on the amazing beaches on the weekends and also experience some of the very interesting night life that Thailand is famous for! Given the reasonable price of this course, I think this is an excellent choice if you are interested in becoming an English teacher in one of the world's most beautiful and friendly countries.

Dane M. – Australia
Go Overseas
February 17, 2017

The four week course had all students in the class involved from day one. There is no denying that there is a lot to learn but the workload was delivered and managed at a steady pace by our excellent instructor, Li Sasaki. The environment was both professional and relaxed, with great resources and support staff. The course covers grammar, methodology and teacher practice comprehensively and Li was always happy to provide additional one on one support. I also appreciated the fact that there was the opportunity to observe qualified TEFL teachers in action and our teacher practice sessions were with ESL students. [...] I would highly recommend taking the TEFL plus course at PLS and am confident you will not regret your decision. Good luck and enjoy your time in Patong - studying and socialising with your new friends!

James R. – USA
Go Overseas
February 14, 2017

From the first time I emailed TEFLPlus, I was impressed. [...] Li has a way of making everybody feel comfortable and the way our class interacted with each other was a reflection of Li’s personality. [...] By the second week I was ready to get in front of the class and start teaching! Over the final two weeks of the class I worked on polishing the rest of my lessons and I have never felt more confident about teaching. [...] Li is truly a special teacher, I never expected this class to be fun, but I honestly looked forward to each day. He has a way of staying on task without the class feeling boring and rigid. I also want to say that I have been done with the class for 5 days now and Li has been giving me daily feedback on all of my questions regarding job placement and CV questions. Take this course!!!!

Sofia G. – USA
TEFL Course Review
December 1, 2016

Patong Language School is an excellent place to take your TEFL course. Li is an amazing instructor and cares about each of his students different needs. I am not the best with grammar, but with Li’s help I was able to learn and pass the course with an A. It definitely wasn’t a walk in the park, but that's what made it a great course and well worth your money. [...] Not only is it a great course education wise, but you will meet friends that you’ll have for life. I can highly recommend this TEFL course to anyone thinking about teaching english abroad. I’m very happy with my choice to attend Patong Language School [...] and I am now teaching full time in Phuket, Thailand!

Marlyn H. – India
TEFL Course Review
September 29, 2016

Right from the start, it was a * FUNtastic * experience. Very helpful and friendly staff and Li was outstandingly an amazing teacher, very professional and a great friend. I personally loved those 9am Thai classes. Something new, something fun to start the day with. [...] I want to thank Li and each and everyone at PLS ( teaching & non teaching staff) for making my experience a super memorable one. And please do maintain the crisp and prompt replies. This was one of the most impressive thing about Patong Language School. I thought I asked too many silly questions or made stupid enquiries but you all were very patient and professional and indeed very helpful.

John P. – UK
Go Overseas
September 21, 2016

I must say how impressed I was with the commitment from the staff and especially the lead instructor Li who was an absolute professional from beginning to end and will remain my friend hopefully as long as I live here. I still can’t believe the amount of work I put into achieving my goal but it was well worth it in the end and the friendly atmosphere certainly made everyday a lot easier. I am already teaching using the guidelines that I was taught and hopefully I will help the way I was helped in achieving my goals. Thank you Li for all your effort, patience and guidance you showed throughout the course.

Simon W. – UK
TEFL Course Review
August 10, 2016

I just cannot recommend this course too highly. Totally impressed with Li’s professionalism, which shone through during all correspondence even before my arrival in Phuket, and continued throughout the course. On the first morning myself and nine others trainees started the challenging, but most enjoyable task in front of us. By the end of the first week I was pretty shattered but disappointed that there was no school on Saturday and Sunday. (Yes, it was that good) Monday could not come around fast enough so I could get stuck in again. Weeks 2, 3 and 4 just got better and better. The big downside was that it came to an end! If anyone wants to become an English teacher equipped with the tools to stand in front of a class and be confident of what they are doing, then this is the course to take.

Patrick S. – USA
TEFL Course Review
June 30, 2016

I happily recommend this course to anyone. Li was an excellent instructor, the lessons were well planned and delivered in a professional manner. Tin, my Thai instructor, not only conducted entertaining lessons but also gave a wonderful insight into Thai culture. The course had two weeks of practice teaching which is why I chose this course. Many other courses do not offer this. The location of the school is a bonus. It’s within walking distance of everything Patong has to offer. I organised my own accommodation but those that took the school’s hotel package enjoyed it. The facilities at the school are great. The classrooms are cosy and create a good learning atmosphere. Throw in a cafe and free wifi and each day flies by. There are a lot of TEFL courses out there. I did my research and chose Patong Language School. I wasn’t disappointed.

Kristina P. – Russia
TEFL Course Review
February 18, 2016

The structure of the course is fantastic, we managed to cover a lot in these 4 weeks – grammar, methodology and teaching practice! In my opinion 2 weeks of teaching practice is the most challenging part of this course, but the way our TEFL trainer led us through it was incredibly helpful. All the teaching practice sessions would be observed by different TEFL trainers and your classmates, at the end of each session you would be given very detailed feedback about your lesson which will help you to work on and improve your teaching techniques. I have only good things to say about this school, staff and facilities, you will have a great and fun experience if you choose TEFL Plus I promise 🙂 I am sure all of my coursemates will agree with me and as a bonus you get to meet a bunch of super interesting and friendly people who will become your really good friends by the end of this course!

Emily P. – Australia
TEFL Course Review
February 9, 2016

If you’re looking to complete your TEFL and find a job immediately after – or if you’re just looking for a new experience in a beautiful location, then I couldn’t recommend this course more. The 4 week course was very concise and well planned out, with really really in-depth learning. The teachers and staff were all kind and welcoming and more than happy to assist you in all areas. The facility is modern and a perfect learning environment, with an attached coffee shop and very close to many restaurants – and the beach! An all round 5 star course!

Joshua D. – USA
TEFL Course Review
December 18, 2015

This was an absolutely amazing course. It is no walk in the park. If you go into this thinking it will be a nice hobby/working vacation then you will be disappointed. This is a real deal school. It is the equivalent of a full time job plus homework. Don’t think you’ll be able to laze on the beach everyday. With that said the course is incredibly professional. The instructors are incredibly knowledgeable and Li is a delight to work with. You will learn immensely and make life long friends. The weekends will be filled with fun days at the beach and nights out. It’s the only TEFL course I’ve taken, but I can’t imagine them being much better than this. Thanks TEFL plus!!

Izzy P. – USA
TEFL Course Review
September 30, 2015

The program is outstanding. I was highly satisfied with all that I learned and what was given to me during the four-week course. From pre-arrival, throughout, and even afterwards, TEFL Plus has impressed me immensely. The program coordinator, Li Sasaki, does an excellent job at corresponding with prospective students and communicates consistently. The response rate is always 100% and prompt, showing the professionalism and genuine care this program has for its students. [...] We could see how the method of teaching a second language used by TEFL Plus could be applied using any language. It strengthened my belief in the efficacy of the teaching methodology that this school abides by. I felt confident and self-assured by the time this class was through. I cannot endorse this program enough. It is a life investment!

Sahar P. – Pakistan
TEFL Course Review
August 12, 2015

The course was very well structured, and wonderfully executed. Stefan was a fantastic trainer and the knowledge and experience he imparted was invaluable. From the theory classes to the practical training, everything was organized perfectly. The facilities were great, and the school is in a very central location. Li was very helpful and always went out of his way to help us. A fantastic experience and well worth the money! Would recommend it to anyone who wants to work in Thailand or South East Asia.

Mark H. – USA
TEFL Course Review
July 24, 2015

I was torn between several TEFL schools. The reason I chose TEFL Plus is because of the great reviews [...] Li was another reason I chose this program. He was very personal and patient throughout my decision process. He sent me e-mails (not templates) and even called me several times while I was in the U.S.
Stefan is an amazing instructor with 30 years of teaching experience. He taught me more about grammar than I learned throughout my whole elementary and high school career. The course was very intensive and you definitely have to put in some work. My only suggestion is to study up on some grammar before you come…and bring sunblock and swim trunks. I made some great friends and had an unforgettable experience in Patong.

James N. – Hong Kong
TEFL Course Review
May 26, 2015

Decided to get TEFL certified after teaching for a few years with nothing but a degree and some in-house training. [...] I’d actually emailed a few different TEFL places, but I was most impressed by Li’s response. In fact, ever since my initial email, Li has been super friendly and helpful with giving us advice on everything in and out of the classroom. He’s also just a cool guy to hang out with. Actually everyone at TEFLplus is really cool and genuine, I think that’s what made my experience here so great. [...] So you’ll be in good hands both logistically and academically. Still of course some of you might be worrying about not passing. There’s nothing to worry about! If you pay attention in class and spend some time preparing for the tests and lessons, you WILL do well.

Carolina M. – Mexico
TEFL Course Review
May 25, 2015

Just finished the course a couple of weeks ago and I loved it. It’s true that the course is a little intense but in the end you know is for the best as they give you all the necessary tools and knowledge to be confident enough to teach. All the teachers and staff are so kind and professional, always with a smile on their faces. Our main teacher, Stefan, is a really good teacher. His classes are great, he has the ability to inspire and motivate his students in such a way that by the end of the course you feel well prepared and willing to teach yourself. Li, the manager, is fully committed to the school and his students. From the first moment I contacted TEFL Plus, he was always there answering all my questions. He really makes you feel that you are being taken care of, even after the course finishes, he is always willing to help. Being so far away from home, it was great to have a school like this one that really looked after me and gave me an invaluable experience.

Patrick M. – USA
TEFL Course Review
May 22, 2015

What a wonderful experience! The staff was very kind, knowledgeable, and professional. The facilities were modern and clean (and well air conditioned), and you can’t beat the location. From exciting nightlife to picturesque beaches, Phuket is a beautiful island that has something for every traveler. I consider my investment in my TEFL at Patong Language School as one of the best investments I have ever made. Stefan, Li, and the other wonderful teachers prepared me to do a fun and rewarding job in one of the most beautiful places on Earth! I am now teaching in Phuket Town and I am loving life. If you are considering teaching English abroad, I highly recommend TEFLplus to get your TEFL certification!

Dustin L. – USA
TEFL Course Review
March 25, 2015

As a recent graduate of this course I felt inclined to leave a thoughtful review. First the staff here was amazing. They have been very helpful every step of the way. From suggesting accommodations, to advice on how to get around the city, to where is the best place for this or that. The school provides a relaxed environment where they allow you to genuinely learn how to become a teacher and not just complete the course for a grade. I could tell that this wasn’t about making money for them, obviously that’s why they are in business but they are there to help in anyway they can. They give honest advice and provide an absolutely worthwhile experience. I would suggest this course to anyone who is looking to do a TEFL course, whether you want to work in Thailand, or anywhere in Southeast Asia. Plus it’s located in Patong Beach, which is an exciting vibrant city with beautiful beaches and an excellent night life. Sign up, and enjoy your stay. You definitely will not regret it.

Jacquelyn H. – USA
TEFL Course Review
February 13, 2014

After nearly choosing another course, I found all the great reviews for TEFLPlus and decided to go for it. I’m so glad as it is definitely a fantastic, thorough course which far exceeded my expectations. With some teaching experience in other areas, I found it helpful even just for general teaching. It involves long days and a decent amount of work, but “Nothing that’s worthwhile is ever easy.” Teaching practice starts from the 2nd day with fellow students, plus 2 weeks of practice with actual students at the school, which is all really helpful in the learning process. It also gives you a good selection of pre-made lesson plans for interviews and future jobs! Patong is notoriously a party/tourist town, but there are more quiet areas (like the school), so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. You can’t beat the short walk to the beach! It also offers plenty of tours around Phuket and the nearby islands. [...] I made new friends with people from all over whom I look forward to keeping in touch with. They helped make my experience in the course and Phuket even better.

Ashley K. – USA
TEFL Course Review
November 23, 2013

I am so happy I decided to take TEFL at the Patong Language school in Phuket. My experience was amazing! The teaching staff is knowledgable and extremely helpful (always offering friendly advice on how to build a good lesson plan, positive communication and interaction for you and your students, and of course giving directions to the best coffee shops and cafes in the area)! Although the course is rigorous, it gives you the confidence and skills needed for the classroom. I received job offers shortly after completing the course and with help from the language school staff, chose the perfect one for me. I’ve been extremely happy and know I’ve made lifelong friends here! I would highly recommend the course to anyone who is interesting in TEFL!

Morgana C. – UK
TEFL Course Review
March 26, 2013

This course was excellent preparation for teaching English as a foreign language – not just in Thailand and Southeast Asia but worldwide as well. The instructors were extremely knowledgable with plenty of experience and went above and beyond teaching us; we received regular emails with information, guides to job seeking, templates for CVs, lesson plans, lists of schools and contact details throughout Phuket and many others. The school is in great location to Patong Beach, restaurants etc. We had two full weeks of teaching practice in order to help prepare us. [...] I absolutely recommend this course for anyone who wants to become a qualified TEFL teacher, while studying and living in one of the most beautiful parts of the world.

Default Avatar
Kelsey D. – USA
TEFL Course Review
September 19, 2011

I just finished my 4 week TEFL course through the Patong Language School. It rocked! The staff is supreme, the building is beautiful, and the course itself is very effective. Patong is a great place to spend 4 weeks acquiring new teaching skills, learning the TEFL Methodology, and getting a re-cap on your English Grammar while sunbathing on Phuket’s beautiful beaches. [...] There are no doubts in my mind that I chose the right school for my certification and I highly recommend anyone looking for an adventure or a life change to take this course!


Back to top
Thanks!